The big sting
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Northern New York : Tundra Books, [2023].
Format
Book
Accelerated Reader
IL: MG - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure
640L
Appears on list
Status
John & Judy Gay Library - Middle Grade Fiction
MID DEL
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
John & Judy Gay Library - Middle Grade FictionMID DELOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Northern New York : Tundra Books, [2023].
Physical Desc
214 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 4.3, 6 Points
Lexile measure
640

Notes

Citation/References
Publishers Weekly,,January 02, 2023
Citation/References
Kirkus Reviews,,December 15, 2022
Description
A visit to Leo's grandfather's farm turns upside down when his grandmother's bee hives are stolen. A light-hearted and funny middle-grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. Eleven-year-old Leo is an "armchair adventurer." This, according to Dad, means he'd choose adventures in books or video games over real-life experiences. And while Leo hates the label, he can t argue with it. Unlike his little sister Lizzie, Leo is not a risk-taker. So when he, Lizzie, Mom and Dad leave the city to visit Grandpa on Heron Island, Leo finds all kinds of dangers to avoid from the deep, dark ocean to an old barn on the verge of collapse. But nothing on the island is more fearsome than Grandpa himself Leo has never met anyone so grumpy! According to Mom, Grandpa is still grieving the recent death of his wife, a beekeeper beloved by everyone on the island. Despite Leo's best efforts to avoid it, adventure finds him anyway when Grandma s beehives go missing in the dead of night. Infuriated, Grandpa vows to track down the sticky-fingered thieves himself . . . with risk-averse Leo and danger-loving Lizzie (plus a kitten named Mayhem) in tow.
Target Audience
8-12,Brodart.
Target Audience
3-7,Brodart.
Target Audience
640L,Lexile
Target Audience
Decoding demand: 95 (very high),Semantic demand: 100 (very high),Syntactic demand: 89 (very high),Structure demand: 88 (very high),Lexile
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,MG,4.3,6,518122.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Delaney, R. (2023). The big sting . Tundra Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Delaney, Rachelle. 2023. The Big Sting. Tundra Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Delaney, Rachelle. The Big Sting Tundra Books, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Delaney, Rachelle. The Big Sting Tundra Books, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

NoveList