Before we were yours
(Large Type)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Farmington Hills, Mich : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.
Format
Large Type
Edition
Large print edition.
Accelerated Reader
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 18
Lexile measure
HL 760L
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
John & Judy Gay Library - Adult FictionLT F WINChecked OutAugust 13, 2024

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
Farmington Hills, Mich : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.
Edition
Large print edition.
Physical Desc
605 pages ; 23 cm.
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points
Lexile code
HL
Lexile measure
760

Notes

Description
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption."--,Provided by publisher.
Target Audience
Adult,Brodart.
Target Audience
Adult,Brodart.
Target Audience
HL760L,Lexile
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,UG,5.1,18,195183.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, L. (2017). Before we were yours (Large print edition.). Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. 2017. Before We Were Yours. Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. Before We Were Yours Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. Before We Were Yours Large print edition., Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

NoveList